INDEPENDENT COMMUNICATIONS AUTHORITY OF SOUTH AFRICA NOTICE 484 OF 2017



Independent Communications Authority of South Africa
Pinmill Farm, 164 Katherine Street, Sandton
Private Bag X10002, Sandton, 2146

Ref.No: 15/3/1/1/2/1

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARINGS: REGULATORY FRAMEWORK FOR COMMUNITY BROADCASTING SERVICES

The Independent Communications Authority of South Africa ("the Authority") hereby give notice to convene oral hearings on the Regulatory Framework for Community Broadcasting Services in accordance with Section 4B(2)(b) and 4B(6) of the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa Act No.13 of 2000, as amended.

The Authority published the Discussion Document on Regulatory Framework for Community Broadcasting Services in Government Gazette 40660, Government Notices 170 of 03 March 2017. The closing date for submissions was 10 May 2017 extended to 02 June 2017. The Authority received thirteen (13) submissions and nine (9) indicated that they are interested in making oral presentations.

The hearings will be held as follows;

Date: 19 - 20 July 2017

Venue: ICASA BLOCK C PRESENTATION ROOM
164 KATHERINE STREET

PINMILL FARM

SANDTON

Duration: One hour for each presentation with 30 minutes allocated to presentation and 30 minutes for questions.

SCHEDULE

Day 1: 19 July 2017

09h00 - 09h30
09h30 - 10h00
10h00 - 11h00
11h00 - 12h00
12h00 - 13h00
13h00 - 14h00
14h00 - 15h00
15h00 -16h00
lay1

Day 2: 20 July 2017

Registrations	08h30 - 09h00
Chairperson's opening address	09h00 - 09h20
1. Pulpit Media Group	09h20 - 10h20
2. Sentech	10h20 - 11h20
3. South TV	11h20 - 12h20
4. WECODEC	12h20 - 13h20
LUNCH	13h20 - 14h20
End of	day 2

Presenters are requested to make available **11 copies** of the presentation to panel members.

Any enquiries in relation to this notice must be submitted in writing (e-mail) to:

Ms Mamedupe Kgatshe

Project Leader

Tel: (011) 566 3259

mkgatshe@icasa.org.za

All media enquiries should be directed to:

Mr Paseka Maleka

011 566 3455

079 509 0702

pmaleka@icasa.org.za

Rybben Mohlaloga

Acting Chairperson

Date: 20 10 1 2 617