NO. 119

GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT AND LAND REFORM

10 FEBRUARY 2017

SECOND CALL FOR NOMINATION OF PERSONS TO SERVE ON THE SOUTH AFRICAN COUNCIL FOR PLANNERS IN TERMS OF PLANNING PROFESSION ACT, 2002 (ACT NO. 36 OF 2002)

Under Section 4(3) of the Planning Profession Act, 2002 (Act No. 36 of 2002) ("the Act"), I, Leona C Archary, (A) Director – General of Rural Development and Land Reform, acting on behalf of the Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform, hereby invite interested persons, voluntary associations and organisations to submit nominations of suitably qualified persons who are prepared to serve as member(s) of the South African Council for Planners in terms of the Act.

Categories of persons to constitute the Council are:

- Two planners in the full time employ of the Department of Land Affairs nominated by the head of the Department.
- One planner in the employ of provincial government nominated by Provincial Government.
- Two planners in the employ of municipal sphere of government (one from a municipality which is mainly rural in character and the other from a municipality which is mainly urban in character) nominated by municipality (ies) or an association representing planners at municipal level or representing the interests of local government sphere of government.
- Three planners from the planning education and training sector nominated by the Committee of University Principals, or Education and Training Institutions that offer training on the subject matter
- Three planners in private practice nominated by association(s) or institutions representing planners in private
 practice or representing the interest of planners in general.
- Three persons to represent the interests of communities who may be affected by planning decisions, nominated by interested persons, voluntary associations and organisations.

Persons nominated must not be disqualified in terms of Section 5 of the Act. In appointing members of the Council, the Minister will have due regard to the planning profession principles contained in section 2 of the Act, the diversity of interests and the need to ensure and promote gender, disability and other demographic representativity.

Council members will hold office for a period of four years from the date the appointment takes effect to be published in the *Gazette*.

A nomination should be accompanied by an acceptance letter and curriculum vitae and should mention the category in which the person is nominated. All nominations should be addressed to the Director-General, Department of Rural Development and Land Reform, Private Bag X833, PRETORIA, 0001 for the attention of Mr. Rajesh Makan Tel: (012) 312 8155, Fax: 086 692 8882 and E-mail: sacplannominations@drdlr.gov.za. Nominations submitted during the first call do not need to be resubmitted as all nominations received will be considered. The deadline for submission of nominations is 10 March 2017.

LEONA ¢ ARCHARY

(A) DIRECTOR GENERAL: DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT AND LAND REFORM

DATE: 7/02/2017

SECOND CALL FOR NOMINATION OF PERSONS TO SERVE AS MEMBERS OF THE APPEAL BOARD IN TERMS OF SECTION 24(3) IN TERMS OF PLANNING PROFESSION ACT, 2002 (ACT NO. 36 OF 2002)

Under Section 24(6) of the Planning Profession Act, 2002 (Act No 36 of 2002), I, Leona C Archary, (A) Director General for Rural Development and Land Reform, acting on behalf of the Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform, hereby invite interested persons, voluntary associations and organizations to submit nominations of suitably qualified persons who are prepared to serve as member(s) of the Appeal Board in terms of the Planning Profession Act.

The Board will comprise of the following members:

- 3 persons who have been practising or teaching planning for a period of not less than 5 years, and
- 2 members of the public, at least one of whom is qualified in law and has at least five years experience in the legal profession

The Director General will take into account, among other things, the principles of transparency and representativity when appointing members of the Appeals Board.

A nomination should be accompanied by an acceptance letter and curriculum vitae and should mention the category in which the person is nominated. All nominations should be addressed to the Director-General, Department of Rural Development and Land Reform, Private Bag X833, PRETORIA, 0001 for the attention of Mr. Rajesh Makan Tel: (012) 312 8155, Fax: 086 692 8882 and E-mail: sacplannominations@drdlr.gov.za. Nominations submitted during the first call do not need to be resubmitted as all nominations received will be considered. The deadline for submission of nominations is 10 March 2017.

LEONA C ARCHARY

(A) DIRECTOR GENERAL: DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT AND LAND REFORM

DATE: 7/02/2017