### GENERAL NOTICES • ALGEMENE KENNISGEWINGS

## INDEPENDENT COMMUNICATIONS AUTHORITY OF SOUTH AFRICA NOTICE 145 OF 2016



#### **ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATIONS ACT, 2005 (NO. 36 OF 2005)**

# NOTICE IN TERMS OF REGULATION 9A OF RADIO FREQUENCY SPECTRUM LICENCE FEE AMENDMENT REGULATIONS

The Independent Communications Authority of South Africa hereby issues a notice for the increase of the Radio Frequency Spectrum Licence Fees in line with regulation 9A of the Radio Frequency Spectrum Licence Fee Amendment Regulations, 2015, as published in the Government Gazette No. 38642 of 2015.

Effective from 1 April 2016, all radio frequency spectrum licences will be increased by 4.6% based on the average Consumer Price Index (CPI).

Annexure "A" contain radio frequency spectrum licence fees with effect from 1 April 2016. Annexure "A" substitutes Annexure "A" of the Radio Frequency Spectrum Licence Fee Regulations 2010, published in Government Gazette no. 33495 of 2010.



KATHARINA PILLAY
ACTING CHAIRPERSON

#### "ANNEXURE "A"

- (a) The **Unit Price** per MHz paired is R 2, 000. (Two thousand Rand) plus 4.6 % CPI = R 2092.
- (b) The **Minimum Fee** is R 120. (One hundred and twenty Rand) plus 4.6 % CPI = R 126
- (c) The **Minimum Fee for a Satellite Hub Station** is R 50, 000. (Fifty Thousand Rand) plus 4.6 % = R 52, 300.
- (d) The GEO areas are:
  - High density includes Gauteng province and the municipal areas of Cape Town and Durban.
  - Low density includes all parts of South Africa that do not fall under high density."