GOVERNMENT NOTICES GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE DEPARTMENT VAN LANDBOU

No. R. 461

25 April 2008

AGRICULTURAL PESTS ACT, 1983 (ACT No. 36 OF 1983)

CONTROL MEASURES: AMENDMENT

I, Lulama Xingwana, Minister of Agriculture, acting under section 6 of the Agricultural Pests Act, 1983 (Act No. 36 of 1983), hereby amend the control measures set out in the Schedule.

L. XINGWANA

Minister of Agriculture

SCHEDULE

Definition

In this Schedule "the Control Measures" means the control measures published in Government Notice No. R. 110 of 27 January 1984, as amended by Government Notices Nos. R. 909 of 4 May 1984, R. 1770 of 17 August 1984, R. 845 of 12 April 1985, R. 1518 of 12 July 1985, R. 1442 of 11 July 1986, R. 87 of 22 January 1988, R. 1349 of 8 July 1988, R.1954 of 30 September 1988, R. 2416 of 19 October 1990, R. 18 of 4 January 1991, R. 2840 of 29 November 1991, R. 2269 of 14 August 1992, R. 2876 of 16 October 1992, R. 1560 of 20 August 1993, R. 451 of 11 March 1994, R. 1373 of 5 August 1994, R. 1636 of 27 October 1995, R. 1977 of 22 December 1995, R. 2029 of 13 November 1996, R. 1012 of 1 August 1997, R. 288 of 27 February 1998, R. 1470 of 20 November 1998, R. 666 of 28 May 1999, R. 1016 of 27 August 1999, R. 613 of 23 June 2000, R. 83 of 22 January 2001, R. 397 of 18 May 2001, R. 810 of 31 August 2001, R. 368 of 5 April 2002, R. 714 of 24 May 2002, R. 831 of 21 June 2002, R. 1364 of 8 November 2002, R. 465 of 4 April 2003, R. 144 of 9 February 2004, R. 457 of 20 May 2005 as corrected by Government Notice No. R. 563 of 17 June 2005, R. 1223 of 23 December 2005 as corrected by correction notice published in Government Gazette No. 28356 of 30 December 2005, R. 369 of 21 April 2006, R. 43 of 26 January 2007, and R. 117 of 8 February 2008.

Amendment of Table 6

Table 6 is hereby amended by the substitution of item 4 with the following item:

No.	Kind of plant	Pests	Area from which removal is prohibited	Area to which removal is prohibited
4	1	2	3	4
	Citrus and species of the genera Fortunella, Limonia, Poncirus, Swinglea and any cross thereof, excluding plants which are free of the pest Guignardia citricarpa (Citrus Black Spot).	Citrus Black Spot,	The provinces of KwaZulu- Natal, Mpumalanga, Gauteng, Eastern Cape, Limpopo, the Western Cape magisterial districts of Beaufort-West, Calitzdorp, George, Knysna, Laingsburg, Mosselbay, Murraysburg, Oudtshoorn, Prince Albert, Riversdale and Uniondale, and the North West province (excluding Christiana and Taung).	The provinces of Northern Cape, Free State, the Western Cape magisterial districts of Bredasdorp, Bellville, Cape, Caledon, Clanwilliam, Ceres, Goodwood, Heidelberg, Hermanus, Hopefield, Kuilsrivier, Ladismith, Malmesbury, Mitchellsplein, Montagu, Moorreesburg, Paarl, Piketberg, Robertson, Simons Town, Stellenbosch, Somerset West, Strand, Swellendam, Tulbagh, Van Rhynsdorp, Vredendal, Vredenburg, Wellington, Worcester and Wynberg, and the North West magisterial districts of Christiana and Taung.

No.	Kind of plant	Pests	Area from which removal is prohibited	Area to which removal is prohibited
4	11	2	3	4
•		Citrus Black Spot (Areas of low pest prevalence), and	The provinces of KwaZulu-Natal, Mpumalanga, Gauteng, Eastern Cape, the Western Cape magisterial districts of Beaufort-West, Calitzdorp, George, Knysna, Laingsburg, Mosselbay, Murraysburg, Oudtshoorn, Prince Albert, Riversdale and Uniondale, the North West province (excluding Christiana and Taung), and the Limpopo province (excluding Musina and Soutpansberg -north of the 22° 50' S or west of 29° 20' E).	The Limpopo magisterial districts of Musina and Soutpansberg - north of the 22° 50' S or west of 29° 20' E.
	Citrus and species of the genera Aegle, Aeglopsis, Afraegle, Atalantia, (Severinia synonymous), Balsamocitrus, Calodendrum, Citropsis, Clausena, Cuscuta, Eremocitrus, Fagaropsis, Feronia, Fortunella, Hesperethusa, Microcitrus, Murraya, Limonia, Oricia, Pleiospernium, Poncirus,;, Swinglea, Teclea, Toddalia, Toddaliopsus, Triphasia, Vepris, Zanthozylum and any cross thereof, excluding plants which are free of the pests Trioza erytreae (citrus psylla) and Liberibacter africanum (Citrus Greening).	Citrus Greening.	The province of kwaZulul-Natal, Mpumalanga, Gauteng, Limpopo, North West, and the Western Cape magisterial districts of Caledon, Hermanus, Heidelberg, Paarl, Robertson, Somerset West, Strand, Stellenbosch, Swellendam, Wellington and Worcester.	Provinces of the Eastern Cape, Northern Cape, Free State and the Western Cape magisterial districts of Beaufort West, Bellville, Bredasdorp, Calitzdorp, Cape, Ceres, Clanwilliam, George, Goodwood, Hopefield, Knysna, Kuilsrivier, Ladismith, Laingsburg, Malmesbury, Mitchellsplein, Montagu, Moorreesburg, Mosselbay, Murraysburg, Oudtshoom, Piketberg, Prins Albert, Riversdale, Simons Town, Tulbagh, Uniondale, Van Rhynsdorp, Vredenburg, Vredendal and Wynberg.