## GOVERNMENT NOTICES

#### **SOUTH AFRICAN QUALIFICATIONS AUTHORITY**

No. 897

7 September 2000

Postnet Suite 248 Private Bag X 06 WATERKLOOF 0145

659 Pienaar Street BROOKLYN 0181

Tel: +27 (0) 12482-0800 Fax: +27 (0) 12346-5809



t stablished interms of Act 58 of 1995

5 September 2000

Dear Sir/Madam,

The South African Qualifications Authority in terms of the National Standard Body Regulations (Government Gazette No. 18787) published on 28 March 1998, hereby publishes the new names of persons nominated to serve as members of the following National Standard Bodies (NSB 01, 02, 04, 05, 06, 07, 09 & 12) and their national stakeholder bodies. SAQA invites comment with respect to the acceptability of the nominees and the representativeness of the national bodies with key interests in the field.

Kindly forward any comment not later than 5 October 2000 to:

The Executive Officer
South African Qualification Authority
Postnet Suite 248
Private Bag X 06
WATERKLOOF
0145

Attention:

Mr. J Samuels

Director: Standards Setting and Development

Telephone: (01 2) 482-0807 Fax: (012) 346-5812

Yours sincerely,

FF SAMUEL B.A. ISAACS EXECUTIVE OFFICER

#### 1. NSBO1 :AGRICULTURE AN D NATURE CONSERVATION

Category	Nomination	Nominated by	Workplace
State	Ms Mmapeu M	Department of Water	Department of Water Affairs
	Manyaka	Affairs and Forestry	and Forestry
Business	Mr Tom Boya	NAFCOC Northern	NAFCOC Northern
	(replacing Mr S	Province	Province
	Raphola)		

## 2. NSB 02: CULTURE AND ARTS

Category	Nomination	Nominated by	Workplace
Labour	Dr G D van der Walt	National Union of Music Educators	Pretoria Boys High School
Labour	Ms Marianne Feenstra	National Union of Music Educators	Private Music Teacher

#### 3. NSB 04: COMMUNICATION STUDIES AND LANGUAGE

Category	Nomination	Nominated by	Workplace
State	Trishana Soni	Department of Labo	ur Department of Labour
		,1 ′	(Gauteng)
Providers	Walter	Committee of	Technikon South Africa
	Greyvenstein	Technikon Principals	
Business	Basil van Rooyen	Business South Africa	Spearhead Press
State	Tsietsi Mohapi	Department of Arts,	Department of Arts, Culture,
		Culture, Science &	Science & Technology
		Technology	
State	Nonhlanhla	Department of Arts,	Department of Arts, Culture,
	Mkhulisi	Culture, Science &	Science & Technology
		Technology	

## 4. NSB 05: EDUCATION, TRAINING AND DEVELOPMENT

Category	Nomination	Nominated by	Workplace
Critical	Prof R F	NAPTOSA	University of Cape Town
Interest Group	Siebörger	1	

## 5. NSB 06: Manufacturing, Engineering and Technology

Transfer from NSB 05

Category	Nomination	Nominated by	Workplace
Labour	Jabu Gezane	COSATU	Paper, Printing, Wood &
			Allied Workers Union

#### Resignation:

Ms Debbie Arends

## 6. NSB 07: HUMAN AND SOCIAL STUDIES

Category	Nomination	Nominated by	Workplace
Critical Interest Group	Prof G Verhoef (replacing Prof J Bergh)	'Historical Association of South Africa	Rand Afrikaans University
Critical Interest Group	Prof L J van Niekerk (replacing Prof P Higgs)	South African Association for Research and Development in Higher Education	University of South Africa
Critical Interest Group	Rev M Hlongwane (replacing Ms N Malinga)	South African Association for Theological Education	United Presberian Church , of Southern Africa
Business	Ms M Mphelo (replacing Mr M van Staden)	Business South Africa	Eskom
Providers I	Dr N M van Schalkwyk (replacing Prof S Bendix)	Committee for Technikon Principals	Technikon South Africa

## 7. NSB 08: LAW, MILITARY AND SECURITY SERVICES

Category	Nomination	Nominated by	Workplace ' 1
Labour	R A Ramputa	SASBO Finance	SASBO Finance Union
	(replacing Mr T		
	Nene)		
State	Sony Ngoasheng	Department of Justice	Department of Justice 1
	(replacing Abe		
	Ndlovu)		_

## 8. NSB 09: HEALTH SCIENCE AND SOCIAL SERVICES

Category	Nomination	Nominated by	Workplace
Labour	Ms N Cele	COSATU	NEHAWU Region – Eastern
			Cape
Labour	Mr N Nthunya	COSATU	Manapo Hospital
			Laboratories
Community/	Mrs M	NACOSS	NACOSS Manager
' Learners '	Grobbelaar		
	(replacing Dr D		1
	Theron)		
State	Mr A Seckle	Department of	I Department of Education
	(replacing Ms M	Education	
	Mokgosi)		

## NSB 09 Resignations:

Ms LRoux

Ms S Vasuthevan

Mr L Christodoulou (died)

Dr C de Beer

# 9. NSB 12: PHYSICAL PLANNING AND CONSTRUCTION

Category	Nomination	Nominated by	Workplace
Labour	Mr Ndumiso Njikelana (replace Mr Monde Skepe)	COSATU/National Union for Metal Workers of South Africa	Continental Tyres