GOVERNMENT NOTICE GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWING

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE AND CONSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT VAN JUSTISIE EN KONSTITUSIONELE ONTWIKKELING

No. R. 874 1 September 2000

ESTABLISHMENT OF EQUALITY REVIEW COMMITTEE AND APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS THEREOF

- 1. I, Penuell Mpapa Maduna, Minister for Justice and Constitutional Development, under section 32 of the Promotion of Equality and Prevention of Unfair Discrimination Act. 2000 (Act No. 4 of 2000), hereby establish the Equality Review Committee and appoint the following persons as members thereof:
 - (a) In terms of section 32 (a) of the Act, the Honorable Ms Justice T M Masipa, a senior judicial officer.
 - (b) In terms of section 32(b) of the Act. Dr N B Pityana, in his capacity as Chairperson of the Human Rights Commission.
 - (c) In terms of section 32(c) of the Act, Ms J Piliso-Seroke, in her capacity as Chairperson of the Commission on Gender Equality.
 - (d) In terms of section 32(d) of the Act, Mr V Saldanha, an attorney from Cape Town, as representative of civil society.
 - (e) In terms of section 32(e) of the Act, Professor S Gutto of the Centre of Applied Legal Studies of the University of the Witwatersrand," an expert in the field of human rights, especially the right to equality.
 - (f) In terms of section 32(f) of the Act, the Honorable Ms N Botha, a member of the National Assembly.
 - (g) In terms of section 32(g) of the Act, the Honorable Mr P D N Maloyi, a member of the National Council of Provinces.

2. I hereby also appoint Dr N B Pityana as chairperson of the Committee.

Minister for Justice and

P'M MADUNA

Constitutional Development